In Pennsylvania, we have traffic laws for a reason – to allow all road users to travel safely. Each year, officials at the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT) shed light on traffic laws that all drivers should be aware of.
The law they want to highlight for 2019 is the Steer Clear Law, which requires that drivers move over or reduce their speed in the presence of an emergency scene, traffic stop, or disabled vehicle. In addition, drivers are required to move over for all emergency vehicles, as well as maintenance vehicles. Drivers who fail to comply with the law can be fined up to $250.
Other notable traffic safety laws in focus
PennDOT and Pennsylvania state police have also put other traffic safety laws in the spotlight. These include:
Harsher penalties for repeat DUI offenders: Last year, state lawmakers passed a bill that makes a fourth DUI within a 10-year period a felony. The law also applies to third offenses involving twice the legal BAC limit.
Automated speed enforcement: Roadside workers put their lives on the line each day to earn a living. Unfortunately, many drivers fail to reduce their speed when approaching a work zone. Under the automated speed enforcement law, which was brought to Pennsylvania in 2018, digital devices will be set up in roadside work zones and will capture license plate photos of drivers who violate the law. Warnings will be issued in the mail to drivers who are caught exceeding the speed limit by 11 mph or more. Subsequent offenders will be fined between $75 and $150.
Penalties for accidents caused by snow or ice on vehicles: If you think the winter weather is over yet, think again. While unlikely, Pennsylvania can still get snow during the spring. Drivers aren’t necessarily required by law to remove snow or ice from their vehicles, but if snow or ice falls from a vehicle and causes a crash that results in serious injury or death, an at-fault driver can be fined up to $1,000.
Right-of-way for pedestrians in crosswalks: Pedestrians always have the right-of-way in crosswalks that are not regulated by traffic-control devices. This means, once a pedestrian approaches or enters a crosswalk, drivers must stop and wait for them to pass. Failure to do so can result in a $50 fine.
Injured in a crash? Take legal action!
If you or a loved one sustained injuries in a car accident because another driver failed to comply with a traffic law, you may have a solid claim against the driver’s insurance provider. An experienced Hazleton attorney can use evidence found in the police report to help you maximize your compensation.
Don’t wait to get started on your claim. Contact Law Offices of Edward P. McNelis today.